Urgent Google warning for millions of Android users: These symbols mean someone is watching

Google is warning millions of Android users when apps might be spying on them.

The new feature alerts users when the microphone or camera has been activated.

It’s very similar to a warning that already exists on Apple’s rival iPhone.

The Google feature was added to phones in the latest Android 12 update. So if you don’t have that, you won’t be able to see it.

The new indicator appears in the top right corner of the screen.

You’ll see a camera or microphone icon when an app attempts to access either.

It prevents apps from surreptitiously listening in — or even watching through your camera.

You can also see a rolling log of which apps have access your camera, microphone or location — and when.

Keep reading

Author: HP McLovincraft

Seeker of rabbit holes. Pessimist. Libertine. Contrarian. Your huckleberry. Possibly true tales of sanity-blasting horror also known as abject reality. Prepare yourself. Veteran of a thousand psychic wars. I have seen the fnords. Deplatformed on Tumblr and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: